The Philmont fitness challenge begins!

Last Monday I revealed my first ticket item for Wood Badge was to lower my blood pressure to BSA standards for high adventure activity.  This is one of the requirements if you want to take the Philmont Leadership Challenge.  Another requirement is that you must have attended Wood Badge for the 21st Century and have your ticket completed.  I had wanted to complete it this fall, but had to push that date back to 2012.  And there appears to be quite a bit of interest from others in our social networking community to make it a meet-up of sorts.  It certainly would make for a fun trek, being on course with so many like-minded individuals.

So today is the day – the training, the diet, the routine – it all gets started with a visit to my cardiologist.  My hope is that he’ll adjust my medication and get me on a diet and exercise program that will significantly lower my blood pressure over the next 12 months.  The cardiology center where my doctor’s office is located offers a variety of programs to encourage a healthy lifestyle.  They have cooking classes, yoga classes, a complete gym – everything I might need to get this thing under control.

Of course, it will all be for naught if I can’t keep up my motivation and stay on track.  So, I’ll ask for a little encouragement from this community.  I’ll post my progress periodically starting tomorrow with the doctor’s initial findings.  Hopefully this will be the time I can finally focus and get myself in a healthy place.

YIS

Mike

~ by Michael Forner on April 25, 2011.

Leave a comment