Wood Badge song for Cub Scouts

I got a kick out of @ScouterAdam’s blog the other day where he had posted a version of the Gilwell song from Wood Badge that someone had modified to use for their Cub Scout pack. In fact, I loved it so much, I “borrowed” it for our pack graduation this evening. Since the Cubmaster was not able to attend and no one else really wanted the Master of Ceremonies role, I stepped up with this song and taught everyone the tune. Here is an excerpt from the lyrics:

I used to be a TIGER
An awesome TIGER, too
But now I’m through with TIGER-ing
And I know what to do!
I’ve finished my Achievements
BUT I STILL WANT SOME MORE!!
So I’m going to be a WOLF Cub – yes I am!

I’m a Cub Scout, yes I am!
I’m going to do the very best I can!

I used to be a LEADER
An awesome LEADER, too
I’m not quite through with LEADER-ing
And I know what to do!
I’ll get myself to Wood Badge
‘CAUSE I STILL WANT SOME MORE!!
And I’ll be the best-est LEADER that I can!

I’m a Cub Scout, yes I am!
I’m going to do the very best I can!

It was amazing to watch how quickly the boys (and parents) caught on to the tune. And they really showed a lot of enthusiasm when they got to shout “BUT I STILL WANT SOME MORE!!” I can’t say it was a complete hit, but it was a lot of fun. Plus, I got to get the ol’ Wood Badge jab in there at the leaders. Now if I could just get them to go …

I have been a song writing fool ever since Wood Badge. And I have no shame in getting up in front of a room fill of complete strangers and belting out some crazy rhyming Cub Scout songs. Maybe I should post the ones I’ve written for Day Camp …

I will spare you for now.

YIS

Mike

~ by Michael Forner on May 24, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
