Reveille every morning. Literally!

I found this great Android application for my smart phone entitled “US Army Bugle Calls” by FA53.  This is one of those free, simple apps that brings hours of enjoyment.  More importantly, it serves a purpose.  It turns out you can set any of the bugle calls to be a ringtone, notification or alarm.  Ooooh!  That’s the one for me!

One of my most vivid memories of Wood Badge is the sound of the bugle as it marked the start of each day, drew our attention as we raised and lowered the flag, and then reminded us that it was time to get some rest for the next morning.  It was so artfully sounded by one of our Quartermasters, Mike Gill.  He is a trumpet player by profession and used a 1928 official BSA issued bugle to call ReveilleTo the Colors and Taps.  Good stuff!  And just what I need to get me out of bed in the morning and remind me to work my ticket!

Surprisingly enough, my wife is a fan of it as well!

So everyday has an enthusiastic rise and a great start to another fantastic Scouting day!  Whether I need to be working on Day Camp, Wood Badge tickets, pack items, troop items, district training, Roundtable or anything else they want to throw at me, I’m all ready to go!

OK.  So maybe a little less coffee in the morning is in order as well.

BTW: As for my fitness update from yesterday, it’s going to be a long road.  I may tweet particular milestones, but I’m not sure I’ll be providing full disclosure.  Not to worry, though, as I am in good hands.

YIS

Mike

~ by Michael Forner on April 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
