Scouts Own: Easter

For Scouters of the Christian persuasion, today is one of the most important days of the year.  And there are a good percentage of us who are Christian.  But not all of us.  So how do we celebrate a day like today within Scouting?

I have my own ideas on this that I’ll share here shortly.  But at the risk of opening a can of worms and spawning a barrage of hate mail (especially on Easter) I think I’d rather toss it out as a question.  There is this whole notion of non-denominationalism.  Is Scouting truly non-denominational?  Or is it non-secular?

The former would indicate that there is not one denomination that stands out.  But you can have non-denominational Christianity.  For instance, there is a sunrise service today at Red Rocks Amphitheatre just outside of Denver.  Now, if you’ve ever been to Red Rocks, you can only imagine that sunrise from this venue is an awesome event.  And the service is non-denominational.  But it is very Christian.

So what is non-secular.  Well, by definition, secular is the very opposite of religious.  So non-secular would be religious.  But not of any specific religion. That’s what Scouting is.  It embraces all religions and celebrates them all.

So do we celebrate Easter?  Well, if you are in a Christian unit, like one sponsored by a Catholic church and all of your members are Christian, then I say, yes.  But if you are in a unit sponsored by a Catholic church with a Muslim Scout, then I say, no.  You acknowledge it and express the importance of it in the Christian community, but you do not put it above the beliefs of another as more important or better.  Because we all have the right to believe what we want to believe.  That is the reason we live in this country.  And Scouting supports these ideals.

I truly hope I have not offended anyone here.  I am Roman Catholic and for me, this is the holiest of days.  But I understand that there are other Scouts and Scouters who don’t follow the Christian doctrine.  And their beliefs are as valid and important as mine.  So, while I would hope that they would acknowledge that this is an important day for Christianity, I would want them to know that their holy days are just as valid and important.

Happy Easter.

YIS

Mike

~ by Michael Forner on April 24, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
