Working my ticket: #2 – Family goal

Day two of my ticket posts.  Day one my goal was personal.  Today, the second goal on my ticket has to do with family.  I knew this would be a good one.  I chose to spend 20 hours a month with my two boys (one or the other or both) engaging them in a coaching or mentoring activity.  Whether it be playing a game of chess or working on a project together, the point is to spend meaningful, quality time with them.

It seemed somewhat strange when I first decided on this goal.  I mean, I think I spend a lot of time with them already.  But when I really started to discern what it was I wanted from this goal, I realized I don’t spend as much time as I would like.  There have been too many times when I was hunched in front of a computer trying to fix a pressing issue at work and had to postpone playing catch or running to the park.  I can’t get any of those chances back.  So now I go out of my way to make sure the time is there.  And the time is theirs.

But it is turning out to be a little harder than I thought it would be.  There are only so many hours in a day.  I get to see them only briefly in the morning. But there is more time in the afternoon.  Aiden and I spend a good 90 minutes each day after school before Mom and little brother get home.  And then I end up moving the things I do for myself (like this blog) to early in the morning or late at night.  I have to consciously try to make sure I’m available as much as possible when the boys are home and awake. Of course, Philmont this summer will also be a great time to rack up some quality time. And it is definitely something to look forward to.

So that is number two of five.  Next up: Diversity.

YIS

Mike

~ by Michael Forner on April 19, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
