Working my ticket: #1 – Personal goal

An individual step in character training is to put responsibility on the individual.” – Sir Robert Baden-Powell

If you haven’t gathered by now, there is a requirement of Wood Badge to develop and work a ticket.  A ticket is basically a set of five goals that you expect to complete over a 6 to 18 month period.  How difficult you make your ticket helps to reinforce your commitment to what you’ve learned at Wood Badge.

If you’d like some background on “working your ticket” and how it came to be called that, Arlen (@arlenward) has a great post over at Arlen Ward dot com.

The first goal of my ticket is a personal one.  I have been plagued with hypertension (high blood pressure) for some 30 years.  I have tried a number of different medication (beta blockers, calcium channel receptors, ACE inhibitors) as well as a modified diet and exercise, all with varying degrees of success.  When the routine is very regimented and without certain indulgences then I tend to respond more favorably.  The problems start is when I deviate from that regimen.

Enter the Philmont Leadership Challenge.  This is a week-long fall course at Philmont that further extends and solidifies the lessons of Wood Badge.  You must have completed Wood Badge and received your beads to register for the course.  You must also complete a full 4-part BSA medical form, including physician’s signature and meet the physical requirements of the course.

Meeting the weight guidelines is not an issue.  Sure, I could stand to lose a good 15 pounds, but at the moment I’m still within acceptable parameters.  But the hypertension is of particular concern.  If you have a history of hypertension like I do, they monitor you on course and pull you off if it gets to a certain level.  That’s what I’m the most worried about, I mean, other than just beginning all around good health, of course.

So I meet with my cardiologist next week and I have 9 months to get things in order.  I may extend it out further if I need a little more time.  But registration ends May 1st, so by this time next year I want to be super fit!

I know it looks doing all of this just for the Leadership Challenge.  But really, that is just a means to an end.  I want to be healthy and fit for myself and for my family.  They are the ones who will  benefit most from this goal, so they are my true motivation.

And if I get to do the Philmont Leadership Challenge next fall, then I’ll be all the better for it.

YIS

Mike

~ by Michael Forner on April 18, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
