Entering the blogosphere

Never did I imagine entering, nor was I compelled to enter the pervasive world of blogging.  I’ve always admired those individuals with the time and talent to spend seemingly endless hours in front of the computer churning out paragraph after paragraph of interesting and mostly useful information.  I have often found myself following links to blogs and reading through bits and pieces, trying to grasp the point in as few words as possible.  If I was in a particularly good mood or I found a pertinent topic, I might actually read through the entire post.  But the reality is those times, until recently, have been few and far between.

You see, I’m not much of a reader.  Ok, to be honest, I’m a slow reader.  So reading has always been more of a task than an enjoyment.  Give me a nice picture book or a set of IKEA furniture directions and I’m good.  I think that’s what makes Twitter so compelling: 140 characters to make your point are just about perfect!  And if I’m distracted, I can always pick up where I left off.  Besides, I have this thing about closure.  Well, actually, it’s a complete lack of the need for it.  I once read some 700 pages of Ayn Rand’s The Fountainhead only to put it down and never look back.  I eventually saw the movie, though, so it wasn’t a complete loss.

Why, then, the change of heart?  I’ve always heard that good writers are good readers, so what could possibly convince me that I would be successful at this?  That I need to bear my soul to the world?  Or that it’s even in my skill set?  Besides, I saw The Social Network.  I know the Internet is written in ink.  Aren’t there enough Scouters out there doing this that my voice isn’t needed?

Two words: Wood Badge.

The past few weeks have been tremendously enlightening, both personally and within the context of Scouting.  During my time on course, throughout each day, I was constantly challenged to take a personal inventory; not just looking at my fears, my anxiety, my weaknesses, but also my strengths, my talents, my abilities.  I discovered that I didn’t have to dig too deep to find what I have within myself: the capacity to teach, to learn, to grow – to give.  I realized that, for me, Scouting is an opportunity to touch lives.  And as a volunteer and leader, I have a responsibility and commitment to do my best for the Scouts and Scouters I’m able to reach.

So it starts with this post; stretching out into the blogosphere.  Perhaps down this particular avenue I will be able to impart a little knowledge and share an experience or two.  There are many, many blogs out there by Scouters.  Some have more experience in their pinky than I have in my whole being.  Nonetheless, I know I have something to offer.  Surely it will be of value to someone. And if it is, then this endeavor will have been worthwhile.

YIS

Mike

~ by Michael Forner on April 13, 2011.

One Response to “Entering the blogosphere”

  1. Excellent start! Will add to my Google Reader immediately. Maybe next year you’ll join us for 100 Days of Scouting!

Leave a Reply

 
